The Pioneers

March 17, 1987, members of the Executive of AMCHAM,
met with Prime Minister Edward Seaga (third right) at Jamaica House.
The Prime Minister endorsed the objectives of the Chamber.

On 19th January 1986, thirteen (13) American businessmen met at the Wyndham Hotel in New Kingston and resolved to form an American Chamber of Commerce of Jamaica, under the auspices of the Association of American Chambers of Commerce in Latin America (AACCLA) and the Chamber of Commerce of the United States of America.

This was done for the purposes of enhancing trade opportunities between Jamaica and the United States, attracting new direct US private investment to Jamaica and providing Jamaican and American businessmen with a forum through which to advocate public policy that (will tend to) enhance(s) the business climate. Mr. William Bullis and Mr. Charles Topping were elected to act provisionally as Co-Chairmen of this group, for the purposes of carrying out all necessary steps for the establishment of this Chamber of Commerce as a non-profit organisation.

Established in May 1986, the founding members of the American Chamber of Commerce of Jamaica were:

  • Wyndham Hotel
  • Industrial Commercial Development
  • McCann-Erickson Jamaica Ltd.
  • Esso Standard Oil
  • National Continental Foods
  • Sterling Drug
  • Texaco
  • Jockey International
  • Grains Jamaica
  • Citibank N.A.
  • Sherwin Williams
  • Agro Bag & Packaging
  • Sheraton Hotel Ocho Rios
  • C.F.L. Limited
  • Jamaica Flour Mills
  • Tropicana
  • 3MInteramerica Ltd.
  • Alico
  • Alba Industries Jamaica Ltd.
  • Williamson Dickie
  • Grimax Advertising Limited
  • Xaymaca
  • Xerox (Jamaica) Ltd.
  • Everoy H. Chin & Company
  • N.C.R. Jamaica Limited
  • Advertising & Marketing (Jamaica) Ltd.
  • East Ocean Textiles Limited

Today, AmCham Jamaica has 185 members representing U.S, Regional and Jamaican companies.